Pax in a Box

By paxinabox

The Day the Chocolates Organized

To no avail!

This picture didn't turn out like I'd hoped, but I had fun lining up the remaining chocolates that my husband gave me for Valentine's Day and photographing them. I thought about semi-desaturating the color, but I wasn't too pleased with the results.

Did I tell you how we spent Valentine's Day? I suppose I should make this photo journal more journal-y. My husband told me that I had a delivery, so that I needed to be sure that I was home around lunchtime. At 12:30, I saw my husband's truck backing into the driveway, so he was the delivery. I poked my head out the front door as he stepped out of his truck and asked, "Should I pretend that I didn't see you? I'll go back inside and pretend I didn't see you." He brought me roses (picture for the 14th) and chocolates (picture for the 15th). He had told me a few days before that our plans were "unconventionally romantic." He explained that we were going to take a trip to get my name changed, since recently, I had finally gotten around to applying for a new social security card after nearly two years of marriage... only to get the same name printed on my new card. On our way, we stopped for lunch at Chik-Fil-A, as it is a delicacy to us, since we live 45 minutes away from the closest one. It's horrible to crave waffle fries that you can't readily access.

We got lost trying to find the social security office. The website led us to their old location. The old location had a map posted for their new location. The map was poorly made. After many failed efforts of thinking, "Well, maybe we were supposed to go left instead of right," and, "Maybe we're supposed to go down this other road instead," we decided to pick a random, skeevy side street, and lo and behold! We found the street we were looking for!

So in 3-8 business days, my last name will finally be changed. Somewhat. Then I have to get a new driver license, and then I need to do paperwork for credit cards, car insurance, medical insurance, I-9s, bank account, car note............ Fun! But I'll be one step closer. I've already updated my last name on my e-mail and on Facebook, so that's something, right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.