Displacement activities

By Detritus

Another self portrait.

During my time on blip, I've broken my previously long-standing rule of not appearing in photographs. Yet I've blown it here again. That's me in the white shirt. The orange giant above me is Simmy. He died in June, after a short illness. and is sorely missed.

Lacking inspiration, lacking spare time, and wanting to avoid another dog shot, I thought I'd blip these two pictures. The red frame contains sixteen photographs taken over a ten year period. Kids, pets, holidays, us... usual family stuff that means the world to us and nothing to everyone else. The frame is a little, well, loud, but it serves a purpose and matches the sofa. Our other big picture is an original watercolour, in the gold frame. A sea-scene, it's lovely, both delicate and dramatic. The gold doesn't match anything else in the room, but it was a gift and has pride of place. It would feel wrong to change it. I understand the artist has retired, I hope this is not true, as we'd like another.

The horrible scraggy brown and white thing kept waking us during the night. We're not on speaking terms. Then she gets in the way of the camera too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.