Tractor

I had dismissed the book once because it was too domestic. I could do without reading about family squabbles, petty tensions, a teenaged girl's lofty and shallow ambitions, her mother's resentment, crafty women and so on. Decided to show Ian McEwan's Atonement a bit more patience this time and it worked out rather well. The detail in which all his characters think, knowingly and unknowingly is quite staggering given how diverse they are and how pronounced their fallibilities.

The day began soon after, when I lifted my eyes off the pages towards the clock to find I was nearly late. Had a long list of items to tick off when the day began. Enjoyed the ease with which everyting was done with time to spare for laughter. Took this weird shot on my way back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.