VACATION EYES

By vacationeyes

precocious

A confused blue jay squawked in the skeletal white birch. Some trees loosened their veins of sap and plumped out the tips of their naked branches. Mallards flapped in any open water they could find, wondering if they should lift into the air and begin their spring journey. It was an unusual thaw. Old Pierre Thibideau could not recall ever experiencing anything like it. On February 18, 1879, Pierre made the following entry into his journal:

"At first light this morning I was awakened by an unusual noise out on the lake. I opened the door and felt the warm air. Now this in itself was an odd experience in February, as odd an experience as a frozen lake might be in July. Then I viewed what was causing the racket. About two-hundred yards out on the lake a doe and a large wolf had plunged through the thin ice and were trying desperately to climb out of that cold water. It was indeed a sad sight, for every time they gained any purchase, the now fragile ice would break and they would again be neck deep in the frigid water. I could only think of ancient Sisyphus and his rock. Now this was too far out for me to venture, seeing as the ice was unusually thin and I did not wish to join the two poor creatures myself. No doubt the hungry wolf was pursuing the deer. and he received quite a surprise, as did, of course, the doe. I was left with no other option than to load my rifle and shoot both of them as they struggled. I am saddened also by the fact that I cannot get to that doe and slaughter it, as my provisions are quite low for this time of year. P.T."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.