schlimm

By schlimm

no miracles?

I've blipped this before and I still want to blip it in the evening when it's just the writing and no background. This being the middle of the day I thought I might as well try and arrange it a bit. I was hoping to somehow cover the 'no' but never managed. I think there are quite a few miracles happening every so often. Nothing groundbreaking and also not incredibly miraculous but I'm sure that if I looked properly there might be some small miracles happening every day.

I had to wait for my family and in-laws at the Dean Gallery and went in thinking that the August Sander exhibition was on the Mound. To my delight it was at the Dean Gallery and I had half an hour to look at very interesting and sometimes very moving portraits. I guess it must be the hasard of being a photographer's wife to be photographed more or less immediately after one of your children has died - it is a very moving picture and incredibly true in a way. We should not shy away from showing everything in photographs, I have always wondered we stop taking photographs when someone has died and then maybe go on photographing the grave(stone). I don't need a photograph to remember the people that I have seen dead as they were at that moment since that picture will probably always stay in my head.

Strangely enough on display in the shop was a copy of the "Buddenbrooks" by Thomas Mann and in that book he describes the scene of the dead father being 'put on display' on a table, surrounded by lilies (to cover the smell) and in my edition at least this was backed up with a photograph of Thomas Mann's father/or grandfather lying dead 'on display' on a table (which would just be to prove that people do take photographs of their deceased family members).

I don't know what I would do but I like to hold some moments in photographs so who knows, if my portrait photography ever improves I may even attempt to portray all that I see, be it life or death.

We escaped the cold wind by walking along the Water of Leith to Stockbridge and I blipped all along the way. I will certainly venture that way again sometime soon on a blipsafari.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.