RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

Above the Storm

This is a shot from 1800 feet above San Jose in the East Hills. The road to get here is called Sierra Road and it is the last leg of this year's Amgen professional cycle tour of California while it runs through San Jose. I'm not sure about the percentage of the grade, but I can tell you it climbs from a bit below 100 feet to 1800 feet in about a mile and a half. Unfortunately, for the riders it is almost a straight up climb, no switchbacks. As a result it is considered one of the steepest climbs in a professional bicycle tour.

I was looking for snow as promised yesterday, but didn't completely poke out of the clouds. I saw patches at the 4000 foot level, but nothing compelling. I thought this shot would be a good addition to the last 3 weather shots I posted.

Enjoy your weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.