Backpack TopherHack

By TopherHack

Drum Founded

One of the things I love about Korea is it's ability to make life feel like a constant adventure. Every time I leave the house I seem to see something that amazes, confuses or astounds - or something that is just plain wierd.

Today I went for a walk in the mountains near my house, a feeble attempt to blow away the cobwebs of a hangover. Another good thing about Korea is that, as it's 70% mountains, you are always near a mountain trail, even in the city. I felt a million miles from the city today - despite only being five minutes away from here.

As I strolled up the trail, I could hear the distant sound of drumming, and the wailing of traditional Korean song. It gave the mountains a wonderful mysterious feel.
I followed the sound up to one of the peaks, and came across two old gentlemen relaxing in a pagoda, one singing, the other drumming.
I tried to talk to them as best I could, in my truly awful Korean, and hung around for a while enjoying the music.

The drummer was kind enough to pose for this snap - and my blip quest was over for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.