For Better, for Worse.

It was a day most foul before lunch time, with rain and sleet making staying indoors very appealing.

But I had an afternoon tea appointment in town with some ladies from a Greek class, that I attended so long ago that I remember absolutely nothing of the language.

I started learning the language in order to make myself understood when we went to Greece on holiday. However his Lordship was always sceptical about their plumbing arrangements where toilet paper is not flushed away but deposited in bins, and refused to go again.
And so my need for the language became non existent and forgotten.

It's strange that the French I learned at school has stayed with me but my Greek and Italian learned late in life have been quickly deleted from my memory banks.

Rather than it being a pleasant two hours with the ladies, it turned into a kind of hostile interrogation by one member who obviously thought that a cruise holiday was for moneyed, inactive people, and I was put in a very defensive position in trying to justify our holiday. Yes, maybe it isn't for everyone, but nevertheless it was an experience which I wouldn't have missed for the world.

This was similar to a time before when someone in the group couldn't understand why I could be bothered to take a photograph every day for Blipfoto and said so in disparaging terms.

Why are people so openly rude about the way other people like to spend their time?
I would hope that His Lordship and I would never judge our friends' hobbies as a waste of time to their faces, even if we thought that the case privately.

So I came away inwardly seething, but after two classes of wine with supper,I put things into perspective and attributed the culprits with small, narrow minds.

My blip is the first one I've done with the challenge in mind.
I had thought the bouquet was a relic from St Valentine's Day until I realised that our venue was decorated for a wedding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.