As seen by me...

By GrantR

Twisted Zoom

I wish I had got the idea to do this yesterday when I was down at the Gormley taking photographs, it would have saved a detour back that way today to take this version for the Weekend Blip Challenge. Theme this week was "TWISTED", not the easiest, so as I took this shot, I TWISTED the zoom to get the effect! Quite pleased with thinking of that, especially as I only had one other idea that would have been a bugger to setup!

This was taken with the Sigma 70-200 lens fitted with a ND0.9 and light tobacco grad filters. Got an exposure of around 1s and then as I took the shot, twisted the zoom ring back, zooming out from the figure in the centre. Nice technique if you can get it to work right. Not the easiest down there today either with the cold wind turning my hands blue as I had go after go at this one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.