ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Teleios

Today was a "down-time" day. Well, two hours of it were!

I was preaching in the Livingston Ecumenical Parish this morning. I had had a diary malfunction earlier in the week that meant that I'd not had as much time as I'd have liked to prepare. Having received a phone call from Ron, the minister, on Thursday morning asking for the order of service, I had promised him it in the evening. I'd expected to be there a week later. Still, it means I'll have some extra time this coming weekend, which won't go amis. I always follow the Lectionary, so couldn't use my early thoughts based upon the readings for next week. Thankfully, this week's lectionary was kind. Teleios, the Greek word meaning "to go through the necessary stages on a journey to perfection" - or in simpler terms- live to the fullness of your potential. That is what Jesus asks every Christian to live their lives trying to do. I've clearly got a long way to go. Starting with my diary!

Anyway, after the service I was back to Ratho to chill out for a bit before the new week got going.

Over the past winter, "Teleios" could well have been the command James has been following with his bouldering practice. He's on fire these days. But today was a chill out day. So he smiled on top of the new boulder ledge in the cave. Already there was a new problem set on it after yesterday's competition.

As the new week approaches, I wish you all good luck in whatever you do.

Teleios!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.