One Shot Only, Please

By dougoblue

linoleum block sketch

I made a new linoleum block and had no idea what I was going to make out of it. This is kind of normally my "plan" - or lack thereof. I was thinking about and remembering my friend's cabin up north and thought I would do something that showed the texture of the log construction. I have shot a few pictures of the cast-iron skillets hanging from hooks on the wall and the newly remodeled kitchen area. I just started drawing the scene as I remember it, but backwards of course. Seems a bit cartoony, but what the heck.

After sketching it out with a pencil I inked the drawing in with a sharpie. Then I thought it would be great to add a light source so I put a hand holding a lantern in the foreground. After further consideration, I thought it might be interesting to create this print as a progressively cut block. I later added the white charcoal into the brightest highlighted areas. I will carve these areas out first, then print a set of them with a relatively light color. After printing a set of prints like that I will carve the rest of the grey areas in the block out then print it again with a darker color. I will try, but not too hard, to get the registration correct when I print this final stage, resulting in a two-color print.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.