UNCAUTIOUS OPTIMISM

By samanthamarcy

Holiday!

Today is Presidents' Day, and per union contract I have the day off from work. However, my body seems to know that it is Monday, because I was wide awake at 6am. After seeing Hubby off to work, and eating a yummy bowl of cereal, I am back in bed watching the snow fall outside my window. I would love to go back to sleep, but Homer the Pug is simply not going to allow that until the morning bustle outside my apartment subsides. His ears are very sensitive, and the slightest sound when I am home makes him very nervous--he takes his role as family pet very seriously and tries to protect us at all hours. Even when I tell him he is off duty for the day, he cannot help but to warn me with varying levels of woof decibels. I don't mind the low pitched growls; it is the sharp jarring WOOFS that kill me.

I can't complain though. It would have been a terrible commute considering the snow, and I can loaf around in my cozy bed with my sweet pug, pot of tea, and stack of books all morning. First up: The Kitchen House.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.