Dave Akerman

By daveake

Cat and Mouse

I've seen one or two other blips where the a shape has been drawn with an LED whilst still keeping the background showing, so I thought I'd try that (my previous LED blips have been with pitch black backgrounds). I had the idea of drawing a mouse next to a cat, but there absolutely no way I could keep a cat still for the 10-30 seconds needed to do the drawing, unless of course the cat was asleep but that would lose the effect I wanted.

So this is 2 shots. First one was the cat (Bobby), with my wife drawing Bobby's attention to the left and not at me, so he appears to be looking at the mouse that I'm going to draw later. That was done in a darkened room. Believe it or not, this was my first drawing attempt - I took a couple more but they were both worse!

After that I loaded both photos into Paintshop as 2 layers, reduced the mouse down to size and moved it to the right position. I did move the whiskers inward a bit and the eye up a bit to improve things, but otherwise it's as drawn. I tried different merging methods and this one got the mouse to look ghost-like which is what I wanted.

I'm quite pleased - it came out better than I was expecting and as good as I hoped :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.