LightWave

By LightWave

First Robin!

It was snowing again this morning, so I went down to the marsh (Belle Isle) because I thought it would look really pretty. Big mistake! It was hair-raisingly, ankle-sprainingly treacherous - fresh wet snow on top of cratered ice. And nothing much to shoot. I was feeling kind of bummed, Mr. L has a cold and I'm afraid I'll catch it (selfish, I know) just in time for our trip to Florida (he'll be better by then)... Anyway, just as I'd made my way back to the car park, almost slipping over three times, I saw a flash of orange. Could it be...yes it was! The first robin. Cheered me up no end :) Spring is in the air!

This one let me get quite close. He was delicately eating sumac berries while I was taking pictures. Seeing as I had to shoot him against a white sky (it was actually snowing), I've added a texture to make things more interesting (thanks to skeletalmess on Flickr for the texture).

P.S. Today is February 21. I started Blip on September 21, so that's 5 months :)

P.P.S. This, of course, is an American Robin (Turdus migratorius) and not a European Robin (Erithacus rubecula). They are both members of the thrush family though. The American Robin seems to occupy the ecological niche that belongs to the blackbird in Britain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.