WideAngle

By RMurang

Another Seven Years of Good Luck!

ROUGH ON ROUGHNECKS


Payback Time

What do ya feel when you seen this broken camera strap?

This is my favorite D-SLR strap, once believed to be fit for heavy duty and rough use, and in rigorous rough and heavy use for the last three years! It finally gave way to this pathetic state during one of my wedding shoots at Nambol some days ago!

I almost always used to slung it over my shoulders like a gun belt with the DLSR dangling on my side ready for instant action and perform all kinds of hectic activities like walking, running, climbing(trees, poles, fences, boulders, ladders, hills, mountains et al.) and mostly riding.

It was in the middle of the wedding shot, in which I also normally used it well slung over my neck with the camera fitted with the 70-300VR lens and the speedlite SB900, that I placed the whole of them after replacing from my neck upon a mat to change lenses during a break. After the lens change, I pick up the camera and strap and found that the latter was broken in two!!!! WHAT LUCK!!

Can you ever imagine, if it happens to break while hanging down my neck or shoulders and crashing on the ground?!

I shudder to visualize it broken apart and the camera sliding down from me and hitting the road while I am riding on the bike!!

OR, imagine it breaking apart and the camera falling down from a steep rock face tumbling all the way down to the deep ravines!!

OR, still imagine the worse if it happens to give way during one of my usual crossings over a river on a small hanging bridge on my bike!! Here, the camera would fall down from my side, hit the edge of the wooden planks of the hanging bridge, then dive deep down inside the river below with a splash!! OF COURSE, I'd, then, definitely dive deep underwater to retrieve it!! But what a difference it all would be!

Saved, saved in the nick of time again!

Yet, again, I was spared from paying a dear price for my recklessness and the rough treatment of my dear tools!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.