In the moment..

By MoshersMoll

Meandering through Maasland

Following on from yesterday's theme, today's wander took me through another small village in the municipality of Midden-Delfland: Maasland.

Another picturesque and typically Dutch place with the Gothic architecture of the 15th century church taking pride of place in the centre surrounded by beautiful old buildings, particularly along Herenstraat, which is where this house is located. Though this one is a newer build the quaint bridge crossing the canal caught my eye.

It felt like stepping back in time here, especially around the Kerkplein with no modern amenities to speak of really, a small florists opposite the church, a greengrocers next to it which looked like something out of the '50's. A small, tight-knit community, they obviously don't see many tourists here, as the few folk I came across seemed to stare at me and my camera, or was that just because I was an outsider? I seriously felt the 'You're not one of us' glare here, as I did yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.