russpix

By russpix

Cairn

Our last minute change of holiday plans (After pulling out of flight to Canaries due to Orlyn's chickenpox) saw us head north to Ballater on Royal Deeside on Sunday.

The weather has been miserable - until this morning. I headed off from the hotel about 6.40 am to catch sunrise on Craigendarroch Hill, overlooking Ballater - a serious work out for my hamstrings!

The shot down to the town wasn't great (as seen on this mobile pic) - not helped by the sun shining at directly at the summit.

However, I thought this stone cairn and surrounds looked a better pic, while I captured some morning mist on the way down.

Not content, I went to the other side of the town and got a slightly better view of Ballater from Craig Coillich hill - benefiting from the sun being behind me.

Two hill climbs before breakfast - unprecedented, but legs still feeling it this evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.