floridahaunts

By shutterbugsue

Blue Jay

Blue Jays are related to the Crow family. They are very smart birds they can mimic hawks and even humans. They are more aggressive than some of the other wildbirds in your backyard. The only difference between male and female is size it is very hard to tell them apart. They take a partner for life and only take a new one if something happens to the other.
My mother use to tell me when I was little that the Blue Jay was the policeman for all the other backyard birds. That is because he mimics the birds of prey to warn the other birds that they are near by. They also mimic the birds of prey so that they may have first choice of the food. Yes they are loud, aggressive and bossy but they are comical at times. Don't worry there is plenty of food in your bird feeder for all the birds. Enjoy that Blue Jay. By the way when my mother told me that our father was a policeman.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.