Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Willow tree at night

11:15 pm and still no blip - the tension mounts!
I decided to use a painting with light technique. Set the camera on a tripod in the garden, pointing at a tree.
Set camera to bulb mode, open the shutter then mooch around firing a flash gun at the branches. What could possibly go wrong?
Well...........
Every light in the house appears to be left on when I need the garden dark, doesn't anyone turn anything off these days?
Focusing in the dark!
Trying to fiddle with the buttons on the camera in pitch black.
Tripping over the bikes, hosepipes, frisbee's you name it left lying around.
Worrying about the neighbours as I fire off my flash gun willy nilly in the garden around midnight. Are they going to think that I have finally cracked and gone completely stark raving bonkers. Am I going to get arrested for creeping around at night with a camera, tripod and long lens?
Oh well here it is - a first attempt and a lot learned. This is the willow tree at the bottom of the garden.
This shot reminds me of a bizarre children's program many years ago about a magic tree, a lake, a bear, a dwarf and nothing ever happening. I can't remember the name of it.
Many many thanks to everyone who commented on my century blip the other day, it is much appreciated.
Note to self - do my blip in the mornings if I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.