My UCI Update Journal

By maxicute

Happy Chinese New Year!

(This is my second time writing this because the dumb thing crashed and I didn't copy it =(.)

Today at Pippin there was a huge Asian food celebration for the Lotus Festival. There were a lot of lovely decorations and a wide assortment of food. On the menu were: a weird type of chow fun, green tea ice cream, Thai milk tea, baked fish, Korean BBQ, fried rice, wontons, egg rolls, dumplings, sushi, "pho" (I say "pho" because it was more like beef soup with bean sprouts and clear rice noodles), almond cookies, chicken kebabs, and something else but I didn't know what it was.

There were performances too. A group did a karate demo, I think, and an Indian dancing group did a dance, but I couldn't see them so I am not sure.

Unfortunately, the celebration was cut off 30 minutes early because one of those fire-in-a-can things that was heating up the food, I think, blew up and sent food flying everywhere. I was on the second floor and heard a loud "Boom" that kind of shook the floor and a bunch of people got off their seats and went to see the accident (naturally). The police came and made everyone go away and I never did get the green tea ice cream =(.

Today I woke up, went to French class where we listened to a really good poem sung in a song. The poem is called "Le Pont Mirabeau" ("The Mirabeau Bridge") by Guillaume Apollinaire. I looked it up on Youtube when I got back to the dorm =D Thank you French, for giving me this song and Notre Dame de Paris.

Then I went to LARC and got my paper looked at. They said the idea was strong but I needed to add more staging to it. I concur.

Then I wasted time until it was time to go to social psychology, where I fell asleep because he was just repeating what I had already read in the book. Teresa gave me two of her grape PEZ. I hadn't had PEZ in over two years I don't think. What a treat.

When I got back to the dorm, I watched a really gross video with Bryan, Maryann, and Le. Le was like, "Is that it?" after it was done while I was like "GAG *HURK* BARF." So I showed her some more gross stuff I knew about and she still was like "So?" Because she watched horror movies since she was young.

And that brings me to here, my 50th post on Blipfoto =)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.