Craftynini

By craftynini

'Horses'

I rode ponies then horses the whole of my childhood. If we don't count my Cindy horse (Thunder) then I never actually owned one.

Aged 5, I begged for a job at the pony rides in the playing fields. I walked children around all day then got to gallop the Shetlands back to their field.

Then I begged for a job at the trecking centre. We walked and rode around the forestry and the beach all day, mucked out the stables and got to 'winter' a horse for free. Mine was called Stormy - the fastest pony at the centre.

Someone asked me to break their foal when I was 10 'cause I was fearless. I broke the foal and rode the horse come rain, shine or snow until I was eighteen.

This old horse head walking stick is from my friend Sue. She taught me to ride properly, she helped me break the foal, she showed me how to make simmnel cake and drink 'snowballs'. She let me stay over at her house when my house was too stressfull.

I'm missing something or someone today. I don't know who or what or why.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.