Life blips n'blobs

By Vikvet

These walls...

I'm sure these walls have seen much, and one sometimes wonders if you had been a fly on them at some point, what sights you would have seen.

Before we moved to Stirling, many years ago, I became interested int he life and history of Mary Queen of Scots. I know she spent a good deal of time here, and on my one previous visit inside these walls to the castle I did wonder what life was like then.

Anyway, a realtively blipless day required a detour on the way home, and that meant the tripod came out and the castle was the subject. (Yes I did also take some of the Wallace, but it has been blipped enough for now, and was also the subject of a photography competition in our local paper, the results of which were published today).

But it was freezing, and even in several layers of relatively warm and weather proof clothing, I do indeed wonder how on earth people lived in castles such as these through winters as harsh as we have just seen!

Thankfully after a short period I was able to get back in my nice heated car, with the heated seats, and head home to my warm house! (All romantic notions of living in a castle now forgotten due to the incomprehension of dealing with the cold!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.