generic outcomes

A spoke snapped on my front wheel just before I got home today. There was no immediate effect other than the front brake starting to rub once with each revolution and it wasn't until I came to try and sort the brake that I noticed the spoke. It was removed and the wheel trued sufficiently to run but (seeing as I'd fished it out of the loft the other day) I decided to try one of my spare snow-grip tyres and a spare tube with the old front wheel from my old bike, a wheel which is about twenty years old and unused for the last six. After a quick trueing it seems completely fine and means I don't have to chance a strained wheel to work, to a shop at lunchtime to buy a replacement spoke but then back to work and then back home before the replacement spoke can be fitted; easier to just lightly trundle to a shop and back at the weekend. The spare tyre also has a nice visibilifying Scotchlite line round the rim so will do no harm to be used for a few days.

Of course, I completely forgot to transfer the wee magnet thing from the normal wheel's spokes to the spare wheel, meaning that I have no record of the distance I travelled. For some reason I didn't glance once at the speedometer and only noticed when I got home and was momentarily puzzled that the trip meter still showed the 9.48 miles is was displaying when I got home from work. I can always work it out using online routing thingbies (14.92 miles) but it's irritating that it won't be included in the weekly total reading which I was trying to bump up a bit this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.