The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

Snug

On my way back from where I'd been today, I decided to pop into the Hop Blossom for a leisurely pint. Sadly, it was closed. It was with heavy heart that I continued on my way home. I then spied the welcoming open door of the Nelson Arms. I had a lovely pint of Winchester Ale from the tiny Itchen Brewery as I sat next to the window, surveying the room.

I'm not a big fan of pubs that get the gastro treatment. I feel it takes the soul out of them and, all too often, the real ale. However, the Nelson Arms is not like this. Even though, a few years ago, it was redecorated and now serves delightful food, it has managed to retain the typical Englishness of a true pub.

It has also retained real ale! I spent a delightful half hour relaxing over my book, savouring my pint. I have always known this is one of the reasons I love living in England.

While on one of my favourite subjects...could I just add my condemnation of the 2012 Olympic Committee's decision to only serve Dutch beer at all the events. This is one reason I'll not be attending any of them. And then, yesterday, I found out that they will only accept Visa cards for payment of tickets. So much for the Big Society and cultural heritage. Humph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.