Sunbeams

By Saffi

Well pruned

Today was warm and sunny so I took myself off to Sherborne to look for a birthday present for N. People were sitting outside pubs and tea houses eating and drinking and enjoying the sun while it lasted! The main shopping street - Cheap Street - was in chaos as the road has been ploughed up to lay gas pipes but I found what I wanted quite easily. I then popped into the Abbey and there again one could only just stand in the entrance since the interior is being rewired and it was full of scaffolding and electricians! Hopefully by Easter and the start of the grockle season everything will be in perfect working order!

On coming out of the Abbey I noticed these pollarded trees. They do look rather over-pruned but the young shoots will grow quickly with spring on its way. This is done to control the size of the tree, especially in urban areas, and to keep them fresh looking. Poor Lime trees!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.