surely you can see

By petergarver

Most people I know would probably say that I hate movies. And it's almost true - I hate most movies. I actually love movies, the problem is that almost all of them are terrible. But not all.

Last month, a volunteer at work loaned me a book - just made into a movie, with the movie poster on the cover, but by a pulitzer-winner, etc. I don't even like fiction - or at least I thought I didn't. I never read - or at least I never did in the past - but I read the book. It was pretty great.

And I figured that I would see the movie and be disappointed - the movie is always disappointing, even if the book isn't very good. But it wasn't - it was better than the book, I think, at conveying the ideas that they both put forward.

Actually it was probably the best movie I've seen - it filled me with a sense of wonder and life to a degree that doesn't happen very often, and especially not from a movie. Part of it, I should mention, was the luscious, inspired cinematography, which every blipper should see.

But you should see it anyway - you might have guessed that it's No Country For Old Men, and that it has nothing to do with this picture, which is a pleasant-but-trite sunset cloudscape, which I also like very much.

p.s. Tommy Lee Jones is a very good actor - who knew?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.