Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Sick & Tired

There's been a bug going round for a few weeks. I thought I'd already had it and got rid of it after spending a few days coughy and sneezy last week, but it seems my immune system decided to roll out the red carpet again yesterday. The shivers set in yesterday evening, and I woke up this morning exhausted in spite of a lengthy night's sleep, and feeling like someone had poured cement into my head overnight.

As I don't get sick pay, and therefore lose out on wages if I miss a day's work, I tend to carry on working through illness unless it's something that actually incapacitates me. Even then, I'll probably do my best to crawl in and prop myself up for several hours for the sake of a few quid. A few years back, I ended up working a shift with a freshly-sprained wrist, on the basis that I could still do the job one-handed.

So, I ended up at work with a packet of weapons-grade Lemsip and some chicken noodle soup to keep me going. Remarkably, it seemed to do the trick; by the time I finished work, I was actually feeling a lot better. Still a bit headachey, but you can't have everything.

Three cheers for my immune system, then. Like some poorly-trained Third World militia force, it's pretty damn useless for the vast majority of the time, but give it some food and a sniff of money, and it's right on the warpath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.