Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Rye House, Hoddesden

The gatehouse of Rye House In Hoddesden. Constructed 1443, with moat and drawbridge. Lovely Diaper work (using different coloured bricks in a pattern) also good condition Gargoyles and a barley twist chimney.

I was going to photograph this yesterday except a series of unfortunate events conspired against me.

When passing close by today I thought I would have another go. The light was fading fast and the sky was a pretty uniform grey. This was processed in PS camera raw using a graduated filter to put some interest back into the sky. Then two filters applied in Topaz - looking for a kind of painterly look but keeping some detail in the brickwork.

I had fun taking it and messing around with it.

A nice way to end the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.