Canvas

By snehith

First Impressions

First day today in my new world. Rather the first morning. Tried to catch up with the sunrise but instead was welcomed with mild snowfall and overcast skies and a very cold wind on the terrace. Took a walk around the place in the morning, had some coffee, and came back to talk to parents on Skype. I need to sort out the mic issue from my side though. Felt good. Today was mostly about walking around the streets for something or the other. First I wanted to check for a nice mobile plan, so had to roam around for a while after discussing with friends online. Nothing felt worthy enough or was too expensive for the initial days, so I dint take any finally. Had a sub in the afternoon, returned back to the room, browsed for a while, submitted some online forms, and again took to the roads on a friends? advice, and walked into the nearby bank to open my account. I was quite surprised as to how things were done pretty quickly. Feels lot safer with the money in the bank now :)

Came back home, took some time out to register for banking online, and then again set off myself to some stores which a website on the internet said offer good plans for a mobile phone. Had to walk a long way, asking people in between for the route to be taken. Was surprised to see that most of them answered ? Straight?, which always reminds me of ?Seedha Jao?, a common answer for anything in Hyderabad. Some thought I was selling something or seeking help so they didn?t even care to look around. But 3 solid hours were spent in walking up and down to find the stores. I did find them, but nothing was available there. Unfortunate.

Lost my way while coming back in the evening, and had to walk a lot more distance than initially thought about, so by the time I was back to the actual road, my legs were aching like hell. Had some coffee outside, prepared noodles in a coffee maker, clicked some pictures going outside, and now off to bed.

Thankfully in all of this, I haven?t slept all day, so I guess I am over the jet lag now.Looking forward for tomorrow, and most importantly, for Monday, when things start to get rolling in terms of work.

More later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.