Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

Sing with Pride

Sing with Pride aims to be a friendly, welcoming and inclusive choir from the LGBT community for everyone. We sing in harmony to celebrate diversity, challenge inequality and ensure that Norwich is a city where everyone can feel safe and proud to be themselves. I've been singing with them since summer 2010 and on Monday 28 Feb we are giving a concert where - amongst other songs - we will be premiering our rendition of Somewhere Over the Rainbow

The quilting group Sew Gay have been working hard to make a gorgeous banner for the choir and I went along this morning to lend a hand and take a few piccies. This shows only part of the banner but it is truly a thing of beauty and will definitely be ready for our concert on Monday.

The basic banner started life in the early 90s as the Bradford Circus Workshop banner, which I made, and I am so pleased that it has now been recycled and given a new lease of life with the Pride choir.

I got talking to one of the quilters about photography and she was asking about my camera and whether I could change lenses. Feeling a bit embarrassed and out of my depth I just said, no I don't think that's possible with this camera. She then said 'well, you certainly seem like you take great pictures anyway don't you?'. Quite to my surprise I heard these words pop out of my mouth: 'Mmm. Yes, actually, I do'.

I think that's the very first time I've acknowledged myself as a 'photographer', verbally, in public ..... and it felt really good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.