Cat's Paw

By catspaw

Melon Slice

Another fine day (after a bit of a grey start). We spent more than 5 hours outside working in the garden - a thoroughly exhilarating experience with the birdsong, the distant drumming of a woodpecker and the general feeling of spring in the air.

One of the tasks I set myself was to finish off what I could do tidying up the trees in our garden that had been damaged by this winter's snow, before a 'man with a chainsaw' (retired, ex-Forestry Commission!) comes in to do the heavy work.

What you see here is the almost perfect wedge I cut out of a small damaged garden tree while felling it by hand using a conventional notch cut with just a simple 21 inch bow saw.

The tree fell perfectly, exactly as I had planned!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.