potojournal

By uhunziker

Picked up my Volvo today at the dealership. Had a towbar fitted and the battery replaced. As i sat in my car there was this customer feedback form lying on the passenger seat. I deceided to fill it out quickly and drop it off in the showroom, it'll only take a few minutes...
Once i was in the showroom i asked if i could get a look at the new V60. I heard a lot about it but only seen it in TV ads and in bare naked metal in sweden during a factory tour.
So they brought out the one you see in the picture. Had a look around it, the boot, the interior (i'm very picky there...)
After having things answered and explained (which was basically all i wanted) i was asked if i'd like to go for a drive. Of course i would!
Nice car to drive, the most distracting and interesting part are the safety features though. Automatic braking for pedestrians, radar guided cruise control that matches the speed of the car in front up to a full stop. Then starts to accelerate again once the 'obstacle' is gone and goes back to the preset speed.... Spooky stuff! Especially when it latched on a cyclist and hit the brakes when there was plenty of room for me to pass him...
Maybe i'm still too young, maybe it's just me... But the automatic gearbox kinda put me off. Nice fir cruising, but even in tiptronic mode where you override it in the style of a sequential 'box it felt detatched and a bit flimsy. Manual for me please!
And when i came back and got into my V40, i felt right at home. Hope that car will last for years to come ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.