Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Variations on a theme.

Our library has a habit of "in-yer-facing" a selection of books each week.
I'm not the worlds fastest reader and read to me as slowly as I'd read aloud to you and tend to treat every book as a text book.

Consequence ... I was reading a "Cowboy" once, one of these "They did for my wife, I'm gonna doofer them" type stories.

SUDDENLY Oops! That's not right, went back a dozen pages and discovered ... SHOCK, HORROR, he'd killed the same bloke twice. Killing 6 blokes 7 times just doesn't wash with me.

HOWEVER. Back to the tale. One of the books they waved under our noses this week was about place names in "Cumberland" (As was). Having grown up in Aspatria, never pronounced as such by the denizens thereof, more sort of Speeahtree. I thought I would have a quick decko and see what the name had been in days gone by.

Another aside:- There is a lane in Aspatria, labelled "Pringle" which I have on relatively good authority; namely a Grandfather I never met, via Mam, that it OUGHT to be "Pringlands".

The perishing book was just Vol 2 of many. SHUCKS foiled again, so I settled for Greystoke home of at least one Blippist, not to mention "The Man".

"Didn't I say 'Don't mention the man.'. "

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.