space of waste

I've been pretty good recently at re-using carrier bags when shopping, particularly so since I had to pay thruppence for the bag at LIDL when I stopped for some juices on the way home and didn't have any spare work-bag capacity. It was a very good bag, though. I think keeping it in my camera-bag was a good move as I sometimes forgot to transfer it between shorts. Unfortunately this morning it was borrowed to store things in in the back of the car whilst it goes for its MOT so I'll have to be careful to replace it the next time I plan on buying things from a shop.

What is not so good is that the large stack of saved bags in the cupboard usually find their way to landfill on the outside of the rubbish they collect in the kitchen as the packaging-bin round the corner next to the landfill-bin and paper-bin doesn't like carrier bags. I was wondering if it would be possible to just put landfill-stuff directly into our plastic kitchen-bin and hoick it striaight into the larger street-bin without a carrier-bag-liner but possibly with an extra wee wash after each emptying. Plastic is now collected for alleged recycling at work so I could start lugging it in alongside my fresh shirts for the coming week on a Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.