The Old Man of Coniston

If you've read my journal for yesterday then you will know that we have been in the Lake District for the weekend. Today was the second day of the 'Twin Peaks' orienteering event. Yesterday we ran on Bleathwaite, in the foothills of the 'Old Man', whilst today we were on Torver which is an area of woodland and moorland closer to the lake of Coniston Water. I enjoyed today's course, less soggy than yesterday and quite technical. In a fit of absent mindedness that I occasionally have when orienteering, I made a significant error mistaking a very small lake on the hillside for Coniston Water (!) and had to climb back up the fellside to my control, which has probably cost me some placings on yesterday's result, derrrr!

The blip is of the range of mountains which make up 'The Old Man of Coniston' and you can see that, compared with yesterday, we had some very welcome sunshine. This was taken from the event carpark so with the lake behind us and this view in front, it was a special place to spend the weekend.

Looks better in large!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.