PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

"His Master's Voice"

Cutting-edge technology! At least, it was in my parents' youth. This is one of their 78 RPM record collection, that I've been browsing today. I chose this one for my blip for the advertisment on the record sleeve:

"HIS MASTER'S VOICE" SPEED TESTER
By placing the tester on the turntable spindle while the record is playing, you will be able to see if the record is revolving at the speed necessary to ensure true reproduction.


From wax, via shellac to vinyl, records, whatever their speed, were superceded by audio tapes, only to be followed by CDs. Now, even they are old hat.

It gives me a lump in the throat to see this old ad, and think how proud HMV must have been of their latest technological gadget. Or was it just an unnecessary extra to sell to gullible gramophone owners? Nothing like a dose of cynicism, to clear the throat! (Either way, I'm sure my parents would not have afforded such gadgets.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.