Love to Learn

By lovetolearn

Tools of the Trade

I'm an accountant.

It's not the best conversation starter. In fact it's the point at a gathering when most people start to shy away and make excuses to be elsewhere. Or maybe that's just in my head.

Anyway, the fact is I enjoy my job. I don't work 'in the city' with big companies and offices full of people in suits. I work in a picturesque village with real people who own and run real small businesses. We try to bit a bit more informal than traditional accountants and we deal with people rather than just numbers.

The picture shows my rather battered equipment - the calculator has seen me through since high school, no one else in the buidling will use it as you can't really see the screenand the buttons are getting increasingly unreliable but I'm too emotionally attached to replace it. The pencil tin is also rather less than professional but was a present years ago from my little brother so I like having it around.

All rather dull from the outside but look a little closer and its part of who I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.