Flying-leap

By flying

Art in Wellington, NZ

Our last day - after saying goodby to Hubbys parents we drove over that  dreadful Rimutaka Range, theres not many roads that I can't handle but this is one of them, so windy and high - admittingly the view is stunning when the weather is right but when its not, its treacherous!!

Met up with Daughter A and had coffee and saw a little bit more of Wellington. Daughter A showed us Graffiti Lane which is absolutely covered with such brilliant colours and wonderful art. The shot above I didn't realise the face until I checked on the camera - there were so many colours and designs to look at.

We spent a little time at the waterfront where I spotted the red gates of our now National Museum Te Papa, loved the design and wonderful bright red.

Then Hubby and I headed to the airport, both the blocks and windsocks were taken out the car window on the move so not quite so sharp and a little lens flare. The stands of blocks turn individually with the wind, love the bright colours. And I had to get the windsocks, they are metal and also turn with the wind - love them and very applicable to my name, I think.

There is art everywhere in Wellington, along with historical buildings. The city is filled with vibrance and atmosphere and has everything including our parliment.
A city I have not spent much time in but is well known to Hubby.

Its interesting to note, mainly for myself, that Daughter A has fallen in love with  a city from which ancestors from both sides of the family are from. Amazingly enough she is now living just 200 metres from where these early settlers were living, something we never knew until she moved there.

This has been an amazing few days away, it was differcult to choose my blips and I found the collages a challenge but pleased I perservered because they show how our last few days have been - full of happiness and fun :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.