TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Winters Cold Embrace~

~Snow In Arizona~

As my heros were so inclined to say many years ago,
"And now of something completely different!"
Ah, those were the days, drunk, stoned, and laughing our asses off!
Somehow, someway, Monty Python defined my young "adult" life.

But I digress, as is my chosen path in life so often does, it wanders.
So anyway, we got probably four or so inches of snow last night!
Thats pretty darn cool I think. And yes, pun intended!
This is a desert Yucca tree in my yard wearing a mantle of snow.
I'm not sure why, but a black and white depiction seemed appropriate.
Plus I want to start creating more monochromes images.
Now we all agree that my sunsets do not work in that medium.
But other subjects pose a real challenge without color interpretation.
One must rely on structure, shapes and composition to create an image.
An interesting subject is not a prerequisite to a good monochrome.
The problem is finding a subject that does not rely on color to function.
Oh, and these are just "my" views on monochrome photography.

Now, I'm not saying that this image is successful, but I tried.
It was nice in color, but the task was not to use coloration today.
I love shapes and repetition, dark and light tones, and invention.
Try viewing it through the magnifying glass, the large version is good.
So here it is, for better or worse, "Snow in Arizona"!

Thank you for coming by today.
Wish you could join me by the fireplace tonight!
TucsonJim ;o)

(It was pointed out to me the other day,
that Tucson is pronounced 'too-sahn' not 'tuk-son'.
The English name Tucson is derived from the
Spanish name of the city, Tucsón (tuk'son).
And that was borrowed from the O'odham indian name "Cuk Son".
In the Tohono O'odham language it means "base of the black hill".
That is a reference to an nearby black volcanic mountain.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.