Playing around

Product photography-it's a fascinating niche, somewhat intimidating if you ask me. Someone-usually a client with a lot of money-gives you a product or object-usually homely, ugly or uninteresting, and pays you to make it look glamorous and like something everyone would want to have. Once in a while you are handed an object of great beauty and expected to make it look as beautiful as it looks in reality-also difficult to do.

If I was getting paid today to take a picture of this, I would have been very stressed out. When not in motion, it isn't very exciting so it had to be spinning, I decided. I also didn't want to splice a number of shots together to get the effect I wanted.

It was a good day. Other than a bit of playing with light, thinking more about that seminar and how much I need to do it or something like it, and how I wasn't sure that I would ever want to do product photography, I scraped the inch of snow that fell overnight, baked craisin/orange scones. I feel very lucky, when compared to people in other parts of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.