See The World

By Firesnapper

Historic Farnham - Abused History

Why do we allow our historic towns to be treated like this, and why do people have very little respect for thier environment and history? These questions tend to irritate me on my "Walkabouts".

I decided to have the day off, spending the morning in Farnham with coffee & the newspaper. As I walked down the alley from the car-park behind The Borough, this scene greeted me. Now I know to some that this scene is a regular occurrence........ But, do we ever stop and ask ourselves why we allow this kind of visual vandalism to happen in the first place??

This alley and the building on the left date from the 16th century!! Could you imagine the comments if York council allowed this scene in the narrow streets and alleys of its confines?

I think it is a sad indictment on how we respect our past, which in turn reflects on our low expectations for our future living environment. We need to let our councils know how we feel, and start respecting where we live & work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.