Blue waves

A trip to the sea at Portiragnes-plage today where the water was cold when I paddled. Only some holidaymakers from northern countries were swimming! I'll wait a bit longer. The sun was hot, though, and lunch was good - seiche a la plancha, grilled cuttlefish. I like the architecture of these holiday towns along the coast, and Portiragnes is more tasteful and well-kept than most, but they look a bit sad until the season starts properly at the beginning of July and all the villas and apartments are open.

I'm sparing you all the shock of some of the more holiday-based aspects of the Languedoc coast - the strange multicultural mixes of a 'Buddha' pizzeria, a van selling churros and kebabs (among other delights), a pottery stall next to a tattooist's booth and plastic palm trees sporting blue coconuts next to real date palms. Next time I go, perhaps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.