Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Seymour's grown up!

I was still in bed this morning when JR shouted from the kitchen, 'Problem solved!' A few days ago we noticed a nectarine in the fruit bowl had a few tiny bites out of it. (Me: 'Are you sure it wasn't like that when you bought it?' JR: 'Of course not!')

Oh no! Those mice are back. Strange, because they moved out as soon as we got the plug-in thingie. We looked for other mouse evidence. None. Puzzlement for several days.

This morning there was another nibbled nectarine. JR took all the fruit out of the bowl and discovered the culprit. A tiny wee snail! He has been evicted to go and nibble his own food in the garden. If he'd been a wee bit canny, he'd've nibbled on the fruit at the bottom - not the very top one!

I had such great plans for using my new ladder in the summer to repaint the windows. And to clean them a few times. Somehow neither came to pass and we've had to look at the streaks of my last effort for months. This morning when Archie and I went out, there was a window cleaning man with his van right at the gate. How fortuitous! £10. And they'll wash throw in the door too (as in... wash it). Seems worth it.

Archie and I went across the Links (no louts around) and down to visit Seymour in the cafe. He's all grown up now, and is VERY bouncy. He shot out from under a table as soon as we walked in, and he pestered played with Archie non stop while I had my coffee (and scone). What a live wire he is! How patient Archie is! This was one of the few times he stayed still. Archie is looking into the bit he's not allowed, behind the counter.

I went to the hospital this evening, a new appointment for the one I missed a week or so ago. It's great going in the evening - I can take the car. JR and Archie went up the Hill with Bailey and her mum. It was a lovely evening, and there were lots of dogs to meet. Archie does have a pretty good life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.