ISO

There's a cute little meme that does the rounds from time to time that says something along the lines of "everyone's a photographer these days until M", where M refers to the manual settings on your camera. 

And it's true that our phones and digital camera can make some smart decisions on our behalf, as can the software we use to process our photos. And when I talk to someone like Simon, I can tell he's already forgotten more about photography than I'll ever know. (Or need to, given his pre-digital expertise.)

Still, I was frustrated the other evening when I wanted to take shot from the decking over towards Inglebrough and my camera kept increasing* the ISO to make the picture brighter. So I got the manual out and learned how to mess with the exposure and ISO** such that I could take this photo outside the Chineses takeaway on the market square, this evening, and also my extra which further illustrates the number of DVDs that I need to dispose of.

*or decreasing. Whichever way 'round it is, anyway.
**There's a third thing that goes with these two, I'm sure, but I can't remember what it is. 

****
-11.5 kgs
I finished reading: 'Fatherland' by Robert Harris. What a belter of a book. And all good spy thrillers have to be prior to the advent of mobile phones (this one by 33 years). This would make a cracking film, people who write screenplays and get films made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.