Chaff, Chaff, Chaff, Chaff Chaffinch ......

........ of the male variety (Fringilla coelebs) - very different to his female counterpart.

He is number 13 of my own personal aim of 52 different birds in 2013 - and I am including him in the BlipBigYear Challenge although I know there is already one listed.

The Common Chaffinch has also been called wheatbird, scoppy, whitewing, white finch, copper finch, flecky flocker (say that after a couple of glasses of wine!!!!), beech finch, horse finch and robinet (there are a lot more but I won't bore you too much!). He does look nice with a bit of a zoooom!


The snow has now all gone, it rained in the night and the temperature here is a balmy (??) 9 degrees C (around 46F) - the sky is blue-ish, the sun is shining and the wind is blowing ....... what a difference a day makes, as they say.


Thank you so much for all the views over the past few days - I am caught up with my responses and am now going to try and catch up with your journals - please be patient.


Happy Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.