BEFORE IT WOULD RAIN HEAVILY

as expected I went to the pond nearby. A young man seeing me taking pictures of...of a coot maling a new nest scouted to me: I saw a swan pair with 8 cygnets overthere! Me: Where? Just there he indicated and look there they came swimming, father, mother and the 8 little ones.
Where do you all come from?
The mother swan began to pull the soft green leaves of an overhanging weeping willow , let them fall in the water and the cygnets eagerly ate it.
Meanwhile the father chased the till then peacefully swimming canadesian geese pair upon the shore at the other side. And kept that doing if they want to enter the water again. Later he even chased them on the grass field.
The sky dark with clouds, my hands cold (where are my mittens again?) but I could not leaf and tried for the best under these conditions.
Later I met Hetty, who cares always for the swans and trptect them, told me where the nest was and when they were born. I really do hope they all went back there since the rain pours now vehemently.

My haiku:

All the persons who
Came along started to count
One two ...eight I said

And the proverb, a severe one from Goldsmith:

Nothing can exceed the vanity of our existence but the folly of our pursuits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.