STRANGE FEELINGS

I had after my walk downhill and back.
In the morning it had been dark and grey and although I had taken some pictures I was not thrilled about any of them.
After lunch I decided to walk downhill and visit my favoured garden right over the bridge. I had looked into it already several times, there bloomed a mass of poppies, and of course there is a small pond, where I had seen last year dragonflies flying frantically above the water.
The owner had told me that I could any time could enter the garden even when the gate was closed. Today the gate stood wide open and I entered.
On my way down I had taken a sequence of pictures where a bee lay dead and a fly was approaching her. A bit too dark there on the scene on the white rose.
In the pond two white waterlillies, so beautiful.
I walked around to have a look and then I saw a big black creature hanging at a stem. To come closer I bend and suddenly I saw the dragonfly of my picture.
No motion at all she made and coming nearer I discovered that close to her mouth another creature, rather dark brown coloured, hang there too.
Had the dragonfly attacted that one?
When I moved the stem for a better picture I had the impression that they were both dead.
And then in the water there lay, wings spread, another dragonfly, that one for sure was very dead, perhaps already for some time.
Closely looking I found another brown creature on the stem of a fox-glove.
Pondering about death and why my inner voice had made me do this trip, I walked home.
The red poppies I thought I can take pictures of tomorrow, but will the dragonfly still be there, and alive?

My haiku:

My reflection seen
In the pond and the many
Victims make me sad

And the proverb:

Pas op, dat gij niet te Klappenburg komt.

Translation:

Be careful that you don't arrive at Blowfield.

Meaning: Avoid the place where the blows fall.
Klap in dutch means blow or slap.



Edit.

Ceridwen solved the riddle of my confusion in giving a link of a video where the dragonfly emerged from the larval case. Thank you very much ceridwen.
And the other creature I had seen on the fox glove had to emerge in due time too.
Why they made the impression of being dead to me is solved now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.