NOW WAS THE DAY TO MAKE A LONG WALK

althought the weather was not perfect, far from that, we drove to Silberborn in the Solling. From there we followed a path through the Mecklenbruch, a high marchfield, where in earlier time peat was cut. A little guide leaflet had learned us that we could see there dragonflies, sundew plants, orchids and Galloway rinds.
When we left home there had been some blue in the sky, but the clouds took their chance and it stayed mostly grey above our heads.
Still we had a great time, the path an easy one, trees by thousands and I found one dragonfly at the shore of a pond. It could be the Moosjunfern, that is the Leucorrhinia (rubicunda). Only one dragonfly, but one is enough.
When we had nearly ended our walk I saw a field of sundew, the plants were so little and one could easily overlook them.
I took some pictures, and while doing that a woman came near, seeing what I was doing she surprised said thatas often she had come there, she never had noticed the plants, even knowing they grew there.
Blipland has learned me to look with sharper eyes than I ever thought I could have wanted to do.
I found this walk very interesting (at many points a lot of information was given) and lovely, tired of course at the end, we both are, but I am glad we did not let the weather stop us.

My haiku:

From the giant trees
Down to the tiniest plants
My eye never tires

And the proverb:

Als hij/zij naar bed gaat, steekt hij/zij de zorgen in de pantoffels.

Translation:

If he/she goes to bed, he/she puts his/her worries in his/her slippers.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.