Not a Re-enactment but .....

..... the aftermath of a military funeral at Arlington Cemetery today.

I do not know who was being buried but I suspect it was an officer as there was a gun salute ..... I stood a distance away but thought it was not disrespectful to photograph the military personnel as they marched away after the rifle volley and taps.

Arlington Cemetery carry out an average of 27 services a day ..... their primary mission is to function as the nation's premier military cemetery and shrine honoring those men and women who served in the Armed Forces.

I last came here in 2005, I cried that day and am not ashamed to say I shed a tear again today - grave markers as far as the eye can see and so many lives lost in so many wars. I walked away appreciating all that I have. Not my usual kind of journal entry but it summed up the day.

On a bliptrip note my flight was cancelled (those who have followed my trip will know that I had a cancellation at the beginning too) ..... I will not now be flying until Thursday evening - a delay of 22 hours - I am 'residing' at the Hyatt Regency in Reston courtesy of British Airways (other airlines are available) ..... fed but not watered (or beer-ed) at their expense too .... quite a lot of the other cancellees were sent to the Comfort Inn or The Best Western but I think that as I was cheerful, did not moan and was very amenable to being delayed I was upgraded to 5* ..... so it's not all bad!!!!!!! :-)).
My bliptrip postcards will now be increased by one!


16/16 Bliptrip Postcards


Oh, and please take a look at the beautiful eagle in Vancouver last year!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.