Walking the Plank

Firstly, I'd like to say a big thank you for putting the Cheeky Girls on the spotlight yesterday!

Today was my final midweek walk with the walking group, it's one of the things I have to give up when I start work next week, so I was determined to go today. What should have been a 40 minute journey to get there, took nearly one and a half hours due to a diversion but we made it in time, and arrived before the others so had a quick drink in the pub.

Fortunately the weather was kind and the sun shined for a lot of the walk, but it was very muddy and was uphill for a lot of it, so it was hard work! Towards the end we had to cross the reservoir by this rather long bridge which felt like we were walking the plank. It was quite high up, which was a good job because the reservoir is very full at the moment, although I'm sure after we've had a few hot days they'll be telling us we have to conserve our water and drought warnings will be in place. It was a lovely walk despite the mud, and after almost 3 hours we made it back. I certainly feel like I've had a good workout and Louis was filthy, so he was straight in the bath when we got home, which he hates.

Tonight we're driving up North for the weekend again, so I need to pack the bags, cook the dinner and then we'll be on our way. It'll be another 5 hour journey and we'll arrive at mum's by about 1am, but at least the roads should be quiet so it'll be easier than driving tomorrow morning.

Anyway, I'd better get on, I'll catch up with your journals later on my phone while Alan's driving.


My thoughts today are with my very good friends Lorraine and Emily who lost their Grandad/Great Grandad today - RIP Roy x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.